TABLE 1.

FDA Rule for Gluten-Free Food Labeling (7)

The FDA labeling rule for gluten-free foods states that a food may be labeled gluten free if the following criteria are met:
1. It is a naturally gluten-free food (e.g., fruit or bottled water)
2. It is not made from a gluten-containing grain (e.g., barley or wheat)
3. It is not derived from a gluten-containing grain that has not been processed to remove gluten (e.g., wheat flour)
4. It may include a gluten-containing grain that has been processed to remove gluten (the example FDA provides is wheat starch) as long as the final product has <20 ppm of gluten
Other important points to note:
• The gluten-free labeling rule covers both ingredients and cross contact (during manufacturing or packaging) with gluten; the final product—not just the ingredients—must contain <20 ppm of gluten
• Terms such as “free of gluten,” “without gluten,” and “no gluten” may be used interchangeably with “gluten-free” but also must meet the standard of <20 ppm of gluten. Terms such as “no gluten ingredients” or “not made with gluten-containing ingredients” do not have to meet the standard and may not be gluten-free.
• Allergen advisory statements such as “made in a shared facility with wheat” are acceptable on gluten-free products, as long as the final product meets the <20 ppm standard; note that such advisory statements are voluntary and do not imply that the product is or is not safe